Discovering the Knitting Machine

KNITTING-MACHINE-CLOSE

To be honest I don’t know a lot about knitting machines, other than how to thread the one I have, and how to knit a few rows. To me they are wondrous constructions that churn out beautifully knitted pieces – or at least I guess they do when you use them properly.

KNITTING-MACHINE-LACE-CARRIAGE

A lot of trial and error has been going on over here, as I study the manual and try to figure out why exactly my first row was not cast on except for the last stitch, or when I had to dismantle the arm to free a bit of trapped yarn, and pray to god that I haven’t broken it already.

KNITTING-MACHINE-IN-USE

It seems like that these machines are fantastic to knit perfectly neat stocking stitch quickly, but when something goes wrong (which will probably happen more often than not at the beginning), it really goes wrong. Yesterday I spent over half an hour trying to pick up a few lost stitches, something that would have taken 5 minutes in hand knitting. But then I did just knit over 300 rows in no time, so I can’t complain.

I’m looking forward to learning more about all the things it can do, and get creative!

KNITTING-MACHINE-FABRIC-RESULT

Leave a Reply

